Demo organizations
You can try out Zulip by creating a demo organization â no email required when you register. Explore the app, and invite others to check it out with you.
Demo organizations are automatically deleted after 30 days. If youâd like to preserve your message history, you can convert a demo organization into a regular organization.
Create a demo organization
Section titled âCreate a demo organizationâ- Fill out a brief form, and click Try Zulip.
Configure an email for your account
Section titled âConfigure an email for your accountâTo take certain administrative actions, like inviting other users or converting a demo organization to a permanent organization, youâll need to configure an email for your account.
- Go to Account & privacy.
- Under Account, click Add email, and fill out the required information. Click Add.
- You will receive a confirmation email within a few minutes. Open it and click Confirm and set password.
- Configure a password, and click Submit.
Convert a demo organization to a permanent organization
Section titled âConvert a demo organization to a permanent organizationâIf youâd like to keep your demo organizationâs message history and user accounts, you can convert it to a permanent Zulip organization. Youâll be able to choose a new subdomain for your organizationâs URL.
Everyone will be logged out of existing sessions on the web, mobile and desktop apps, and will need to log in again at the new URL. Any API clients or integrations will need to be updated to point to the new organization URL.
- Go to Organization profile.
- Click the Convert button in the banner at the top.
- Enter your new Organization URL, and click Convert.
Deactivate a demo organization
Section titled âDeactivate a demo organizationâDemo organizations are automatically deleted after 30 days, but you can also manually deactivate your organization.
- Go to Organization profile.
- Under Deactivate organization, click Deactivate organization.
- Select when the organizationâs data (users, channels, messages, etc.) should be permanently deleted. If you havenât configured an email for your account, data will be deleted immediately.
- Approve by clicking Confirm.