Manage user groups
User groups offer a flexible way to manage permissions in your organization. Most permissions in Zulip can be granted to any combination of roles, groups, and individual users.
Groups provide an easy way to refer to multiple users at once. You can:
- Mention a group of users, notifying everyone in the group as if they were personally mentioned.
- Compose a direct message to a user group. This automatically puts all the users in the group into the addressee field.
- Subscribe a user group to a channel. This individually subscribes all the users in the group.
Create a user group
Section titled âCreate a user groupâ- Click on the gear () icon in the upper right corner of the web or desktop app.
- Click Create user group on the right, or click the create new user group () icon in the upper right.
- Fill out the requested information, and click Continue to add members.
- Under Add members, enter groups and users you want to add. You can enter
a
#channelto add all subscribers to the group. Click Add. - Click Create to create the group.
Change a user groupâs name or description
Section titled âChange a user groupâs name or descriptionâ- Click on the gear () icon in the upper right corner of the web or desktop app.
- Select Group settings.
- Click All groups in the upper left.
- Select a user group.
- Select the General tab on the right.
- Click the change group info () icon to the right of the user group, and enter a new name or description.
- Click Save changes.
Configure group permissions
Section titled âConfigure group permissionsâ- Click on the gear () icon in the upper right corner of the web or desktop app.
- Select Group settings.
- Click All groups in the upper left.
- Select a user group.
- Select the General tab on the right.
- Under Group permissions, configure Who can administer this group, Who can mention this group, Who can add members to this group, Who can remove members from this group, Who can join this group, and Who can leave this group.
- Click Save changes.
Add users to a group
Section titled âAdd users to a groupâ- Click on the gear () icon in the upper right corner of the web or desktop app.
- Select Group settings.
- Click All groups in the upper left.
- Select a user group.
- Select the Members tab on the right.
- Under Add members, enter users you want to add. You can enter a
#channelto add all subscribers to the group. - Click Add. Zulip will notify everyone who is added to the group.
- Hover over a userâs name in the right sidebar.
- Click on their avatar or the ellipsis () to the right of their name to open their user card.
- Click View profile.
- Select the User groups tab.
- Under Add user to groups, enter the groups you want to add the user to. You can start typing to filter suggestions.
- Click the Add button. Zulip will notify the user about the groups theyâve been added to.
Add user groups to a group
Section titled âAdd user groups to a groupâYou can add a group to another user group, making it easy to express your organizationâs structure in Zulipâs permissions system. A user who belongs to a subgroup of a group is treated as a member of that group. For example:
- The âengineeringâ group could be made up of âengineering-managersâ and âengineering-staffâ.
- The âmanagersâ group could be made up of âengineering-managersâ, âdesign-managersâ, etc.
Updating the members of a group automatically updates the members of all the groups that contain it. In the above example, adding a new team member to âengineering-managersâ automatically adds them to âengineeringâ and âmanagersâ as well. Removing a team member who transferred automatically removes them.
- Click on the gear () icon in the upper right corner of the web or desktop app.
- Select Group settings.
- Click All groups in the upper left.
- Select a user group.
- Select the Members tab on the right.
- Under Add members, enter groups you want to add.
- Click Add.
Remove user or group from a group
Section titled âRemove user or group from a groupâ- Click on the gear () icon in the upper right corner of the web or desktop app.
- Select Group settings.
- Click All groups in the upper left.
- Select a user group.
- Select the Members tab on the right.
- Under Members, find the user or group you would like to remove.
- Click the remove () icon in that row. Zulip will notify everyone who is removed from the group.
- Hover over a userâs name in the right sidebar.
- Click on their avatar or the ellipsis () to the right of their name to open their user card.
- Click View profile.
- Select the User groups tab.
- Find the group you would like to remove the user from.
- Click the remove () icon in that row. Zulip will notify the user about the groups theyâve been removed from.
Review and remove permissions assigned to a group
Section titled âReview and remove permissions assigned to a groupâYou can review which permissions are assigned to a group, and remove permissions as needed. To add permissions, use the dedicated permissions management panel for your organization, or the channel or group youâre adding permissions for.
- Click on the gear () icon in the upper right corner of the web or desktop app.
- Select Group settings.
- Click All groups in the upper left.
- Select a user group.
- Select the Permissions tab on the right.
- Toggle the checkboxes next to any permissions youâd like to remove.
- Click Save changes.
Configure who can create user groups
Section titled âConfigure who can create user groupsâYou can configure who can create groups in your organization. Guests can never create user groups, even if they belong to a group that has permissions to do so.
- Go to Organization permissions.
- Under Group permissions, configure Who can create user groups.
- Click Save changes.
Configure who can administer all user groups
Section titled âConfigure who can administer all user groupsâYou can configure who can administer all user groups in your organization. Guests can never administer user groups, even if they belong to a group that has permissions to do so.
In addition, you can give users permission to administer a specific group.
- Go to Organization permissions.
- Under Group permissions, configure Who can administer all user groups.
- Click Save changes.