User groups
User groups offer a flexible way to manage permissions in your organization. Most permissions in Zulip can be granted to any combination of roles, groups, and individual users.
Groups provide an easy way to refer to multiple users at once. You can:
- Mention a group of users, notifying everyone in the group as if they were personally mentioned.
- Compose a direct message to a user group. This automatically puts all the users in the group into the addressee field.
- Subscribe a user group to a channel. This individually subscribes all the users in the group.
You can add a group to another user group, making it easy to express your organizationâs structure in Zulipâs permissions system.
Browse and join user groups
Section titled âBrowse and join user groupsâ- Click on the gear () icon in the upper right corner of the web or desktop app.
- Select Group settings.
- Click All groups in the upper left.
- Scroll through the list of user groups. You can use the search box near the top of the menu to filter the list by group name or description.
- Click the join group () icon to the left of a user group to join the group, if you have permission to do so.
Leave a group
Section titled âLeave a groupâ- Click on the gear () icon in the upper right corner of the web or desktop app.
- Click the leave group () icon to the left of a user group to leave the group, if you have permission to do so.
View a groupâs card
Section titled âView a groupâs cardâ- Click on a user group mention in a message to open the group card.