Read receipts
Read receipts let you check who has read a message. You can see read receipts for any message, including both channel messages and direct messages.
With privacy in mind, Zulip lets you control whether your read receipts are shared, and administrators can choose whether to enable read receipts in their organization.
View who has read a message
Section titled âView who has read a messageâ- Hover over a message to reveal three icons on the right.
- Click on the ellipsis ().
- Click View read receipts.
- Press and hold a message until the long-press menu appears.
- Tap View read receipts.
Configure whether Zulip lets others see when youâve read messages
Section titled âConfigure whether Zulip lets others see when youâve read messagesâZulip supports the privacy option of never sharing whether or not you have read a message. If this setting is turned off, your name will never appear in the list of read receipts.
- Go to Account & privacy.
- Under Privacy, toggle Let others see when Iâve read messages.
Configure read receipts for your organization
Section titled âConfigure read receipts for your organizationâYou can configure:
- Whether read receipts are enabled in your organization.
- Whether new users will allow others to view read receipts by default. (Note that users can always change this setting once they join.)
Configure whether read receipts are enabled in your organization
Section titled âConfigure whether read receipts are enabled in your organizationâ- Go to Organization settings.
- Under Message feed settings, toggle Enable read receipts.
- Click Save changes.
Configure default read receipt sharing settings for new users
Section titled âConfigure default read receipt sharing settings for new usersâ- Go to Default user settings.
- Under Privacy settings, toggle Allow other users to view read receipts.